OAMP Board of Directors

OAMP board of directors

Meet your Board of Directors!

The OAMP Board was elected during the first General Meeting at the 62nd Annual Scientific Meeting of the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists in St. John’s, Newfoundland.

The Board of Directors is committed to providing a voice for medical physicists in Ontario.  Please feel free to contact the team if you have any questions about the OAMP.

Stephen L. Breen, PhD, MCCPM

Stephen Breen - President, OAMP

Stephen L. Breen, PhD, MCCPM is the Head of the Medical Physics Department at the Odette Cancer Centre, Sunnybrook Hospital in Toronto, and an assistant professor in the department of radiation oncology at the University of Toronto, and is the physics clinical quality lead for Cancer Care Ontario. He holds a BEng in engineering physics from the Technical University of Nova Scotia, and a PhD in medical biophysics from Western University. His work interests center on quality and safety in radiation medicine, MR-guided radiotherapy, and radionuclide therapy. He has served on the Board of Directors of COMP, and was course director for the COMP Winter School on Quality and Safety.

Vice President
Ivan Yeung, PhD, FCCPM

Ivan Yeung

Ivan Yeung, PhD, FCCPM is the Head of Medical Physics at Stronach Regional Cancer Centre (SRCC), an Associate Head Medical Physics at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and an Assistant Professor at the Department of Radiation Oncology, University of Toronto. He holds a B.Sc. degree in Geophysics from the University of Manitoba and a PhD degree in Medical Biophysics from Western University. Prior to becoming the Head of Medical Physics at SRCC, he was the lead Brachytherapy physicist at the Princess Margaret from 1997 to 2009. His research interest includes quantitative and functional imaging applied in cancer therapy.


Monique van Prooijen, PhD, MCCPM

Monique van Prooijen, PhD, MCCPM, is a Medical Physicist at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre with a PhD in physics from the University of Waterloo. She is the Radiation Safety Designate for Cobalt units at the Princess Margaret, which covers two Gamma Knife units and a Theratron used for research and device QA. Monique’s main clinical and research interests are in stereotactic radiotherapy/surgery and she actively supports international efforts to build cancer centres in LMIC’s. She is currently mentor to an international physics resident from Kenya.

Jeffrey Richer, MS, MCCPM

Jeff Richer, MS, MCCPM is the Director of Radiation Oncology, Head of Medical Physics and Corporate Radiation Safety Officer for Windsor Regional Hospital.  He holds a BSc degree in physics from the University of Windsor, and a MS degree in radiological physics from Wayne State University. He is also associate program director for the CAMPEP accredited residency program at Windsor Regional Hospital affiliated with Karmanos Cancer Institute/Wayne State University.  His work interests include radiation safety and protection, quality and safety in radiation oncology and organizational effectiveness.  He has served on many Cancer Care Ontario committees and is the recipient of the Cancer Care Ontario/Cancer Quality Council of Ontario Quality Award for Radiation Oncology Wait Time Reduction Strategies at Windsor Regional Hospital in 2008.

Jeff Frimeth, MSc, MCCPM, CIIP

Jeff Frimeth - OAMP Director-At-LargeJeff Frimeth is a board-certified Diagnostic Medical Physicist. He routinely performs medical physics evaluations of mammography, CT, BMD (bone mineral density) systems, and consults on issues regarding radiation safety, dose management, and image quality. He is board-certified by the Canadian College of Physicists in Medicine (CCPM) in Diagnostic Radiological Physics, certified by the CCPM in mammography, and is board-certified by the American Board of Imaging Informatics (ABII) as a Certified Imaging Informatics Professional (CIIP). Jeff has completed a Diagnostic Medical Physics residency program in Dallas, TX. He has experience in teaching radiologists, MRTs, and dentists in various topics regarding radiation physics. Jeff is currently a Director-at-Large for the Ontario Association of Medical Physicists (OAMP) and participates on the Professional Affairs Committee for the Canadian Organization of Medical Physicists (COMP). His other memberships include those in the American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM) and Society for Imaging Informatics in Medicine (SIIM).

Anthony Kim, PhD, MCCPM

Anthony Kim - OAMP Director-At-LargeAnthony Kim, PhD, MCCPM is a practicing Medical Physicist at Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre and a Director-at-Large for the OAMP. In addition to clinical duties as a radiation oncology physicist, Anthony is academically appointed to the University of Toronto and has supervised several medical physics students and residents in a variety of projects in adaptive radiation therapy and treatment planning. He holds a BASc in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Waterloo and a PhD in Medical Biophysics from the University of Toronto. Recent clinical and research interests are focused on preparing for the installation of our prototype MRI-Linac at our cancer centre and participating as a member of the Elekta MRI-Linac consortium that supports this international project.

Jenna King, MSc, MCCPM

Jenna King, MSc, MCCPM is a Medical Physicist at the Simcoe Muskoka Regional Cancer Centre in Barrie, Ontario, and a Director-at-Large for the OAMP. She holds an Honours BSc in Physics from the University of Regina and a MSc in Medical and Health Physics from the University of Manitoba. Jenna’s work interests include quality and safety in radiotherapy, stereotactic body radiotherapy, and treatment planning process improvement. She is currently investigating the use of a 3D printer to create custom accessories for radiotherapy treatment applications.